View Single Post
Old January 20, 2008, 06:36 AM
jonny jonny is offline
Club Cricketer
Join Date: December 15, 2005
Posts: 88
Default AFC President`s Cup 2008

KUALA LUMPUR: AFC has made the group stage draw for the fourth edition of the AFC President’s Cup and two-time defending champions Dordoi-Dynamo of Kyrgyzstan have been slotted with Cambodia’s Nagacorp FC and Taiwan Power Company of Chinese Taipei.

Under the new format of the competition, eleven teams were drawn into two groups of four teams each, and one of three teams. The three group toppers advance to the finals along with the best runners-up from the three groups.

The three groups will be hosted by Nepal, Chinese Taipei and Sri Lanka.

The National League champions of Turkmenistan and Bangladesh (both of whom played earlier in the AFC Cup) and Myanmar are newcomers to the competition.

The knockout stage, comprising the semifinals and final, takes place from 19-21 September 2008. The hosts for the knockout stage will be identified after the group stage.

AFC will announce the dates for the group stage shortly.


GROUP A: League champions (Nepal), Regar-Tadaz (Tajikistan), League champions (Pakistan), Abahani (Bangladesh)

GROUP B: Dordoi-Dynamo (Kyrgyzstan), Nagacorp FC (Cambodia), Taiwan Power Company (Chinese Taipei)

GROUP C: Ashgabat (Turkmenistan), Ratnam SC (Sri Lanka), Transport United (Bhutan), Kanbawza (Myanmar)
Reply With Quote